Google in the Springtime!

There’s nothing like a road trip once in a while, to get out of town and experience new things.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today’s trip was to Silicon Valley in search of partners who may be willing to join with us in creating a synergistic relationship. My first stop was Google headquarters where there are many different topics of discussion to cover as to how we might work together for mutually beneficial outcomes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One of the subject matters at both at Google headquarters and at nearby Tesla Motors (my 2nd destination) was electric vehicles.

Through a deal struck long ago when New Melones was built, Calaveras Public Power Authority was formed (CPPA) and we are allocated many megawatts of power each year. We have never used our complete allocation because there are very restrictive rules about what we can use them for.

…..but here we are in 2012 and what do you know, there are now electric vehicles that are practical for everyday use and we have very cheap power to charge them, that we are not fully utilizing currently.

Our special rate is only about 33% of the street rate that residential and commercial end users pay.

So, not only could we be “sparing the air” but wed could also be saving the county money on gas bills for our fleet vehicles.

Wow, a true win/win for the environment and the taxpayers!

Here are some pictures from the Google parking lot where they have an “EV only” section equipped with electric vehicle charging stations that look like gas pumps except they are electric.

 

 

Here are some more pictures of the charging pump and a Chevy “Volt” electric vehicle. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After I was done at Google I went over to Tesla Motors to see about a promotional marketing deal to perhaps build us a less fancy/smaller version of the new Tesla S model  for county business needs.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course while I was there to talk scaled down practical models for county business I couldn’t help but get a picture of the beautiful line up of all electric roadsters in the parking lot being charged and waiting like pretty ponies for the Tesla executives to call it a day and punch the skinny pedal on the right for some after work mental mind clearing. The greatest thing about it is that they are absolutely electric, so whether it’s saving money on your gasoline bill or saving the planet with a carbon free ride, Tesla has you covered both ways.

 

Do you think if I’m really nice this year I can get Santa to deliver the keys to one of these?

The Calaveras County back roads are calling me to personally test out one of these Tesla roadsters!     

 

About CalaverasKid

Graduate of C.S.U. Stanislaus with a degree in History and Political Science. Married to my college sweetheart for 20 years and we have two wonderful children. My "Hometown" is Manteca, Ca. and I was a Manteca Buffalo, class of 1988. I currently live with my family in the Rancho Calaveras area of western Calaveras County, enjoying our rural setting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Google in the Springtime!

  1. Brent Vaughan says:

    Hey Darren, good to see that you are enjoying the good things in life. I will get you a Chevy Volt, If you get me a Tesla Roadster. Remember I am older than you, thus have more driving experience. For an electric vehicle I hear that vehicle (Tesla) moves. If not I will be content with my Toyota Prius. A consistant 53 MPG is not to bad at todays gas prices.

    Stay in touch,
    Brent

Leave a comment