Victory for the people at the polls

Tuesday’s election was very exciting for many of us who voted with great hope for a better future. Though inevitably some were pleased and some were disappointed, at least locally here in District 5 of Calaveras County our campaign to take back our local government seems to have been successful.

 

The final numbers on election night were

Spellman for Supervisor Campaign……….55%

Thomas Campaign………………………44%

These numbers are from the actual polls on election day. There are still some “provisional” ballots and “absentee” ballots that were dropped off on election day that still need to be counted. They tell us that after the counting the outcome should be the same in terms of percentage, but we will make sure to post all the official numbers here when they are released by the county recorder’s office.

Mr. Thomas conceded the win to our campaign on election night as he left what he had hoped would be a victory party at La Contenta Golf club, according to local papers.

It must have been an emotional night for him and I wish Mr. Thomas the best of luck in his future endeavors and thank him for the service he rendered to our community during his time in office.

Looking forward, there are many things to accomplish and I am ready to get started. Newly elected representatives are sworn in the first part of January 2011. I suppose my new year’s resolutions this year will be easy to guess as getting a running start on working for the people of district 5 will be in the forefront of my thoughts.

Many thanks to all the wonderful people who have helped make this campaign successful, it was a difficult road, but you pulled through and I am very inspired by your efforts. As a result of such a wonderful effort, I am committed to doing all I can to help preserve what we have and look for ways to make our communities even better and hope that you will continue to stay in touch and lend your wisdom to the process.

Sincerely,     Darren

About CalaverasKid

Graduate of C.S.U. Stanislaus with a degree in History and Political Science. Married to my college sweetheart for 20 years and we have two wonderful children. My "Hometown" is Manteca, Ca. and I was a Manteca Buffalo, class of 1988. I currently live with my family in the Rancho Calaveras area of western Calaveras County, enjoying our rural setting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment